A Happy Celebration

I mentioned yesterday that it was J’s birthday. Always nervous about her birthday, though I couldn’t care less about my own. But, by J’s accounts, the day was a success.

We took a couple friends of ours along and went to the hockey game between the Tucson Roadrunners (the AHL affiliate to the Arizona Coyotes) and the Ontario (California, not Canada) Reign (AHL affiliate of the Los Angeles Kings). Though the Roadrunners lost, we had a great time and that’s all that matters.

First off, we were second row off the ice, which is the closest I’ve sat at any sporting event. You could see the sweat dripping off the players. It was awesome, y’know, in a gross sort of way. Second, our friends were just great company. Both offered to pay me for their tickets but I told them their being their for J on her birthday was gift enough, so please hold on to your money. More than anything, it was just a great time.

On the way home J told me she had a great birthday and it was delightful to hear—and also a relief. She does so much to make me happy, I just wanted to come through for her, at least this once.

Apparently, it worked out for all of us.

And, as always, here’s wishing everyone peace on this beautiful Sunday.

By schingle

Though I have many interests, writing is my passion. I love music, sports, various puzzles that require thinking, women (and other human beings), dogs and my son. Probably other things too. But, more than anything, writing is my passion.

Leave a comment